Temptation

I was particularly struck by today’s prompt, Temptation. It was particularly interesting because I stumbled upon it when I was blogging. Was I attempting to avoid doing the necessary work of preparing for an imminent move from my current house. It struck me as funny because I was thinking of how I had much more important work to do than putting my ramblings out to the public.

However, I was particularly moved to write on this, so maybe now I enter temptation zone. I decided to look at the definition, “a desire to do something especially wrong or unwise.” Then I decided maybe my current situation did not reflect this definition of the word. I blog for me and my mental health. I am going through a particularly tough time in my life (I am 40 after all) and I think my sanity comes first. Often when I see words I look up images that the word conjures. Is it the same thing that comes to my mind? As I surfed today saw the image below. It made me chuckle. Not because it is inherently funny, but I identified with words written here:

temptation

All I could think was that was, “do we have more to lose or gain?”. I have been on the receiving end of what we can lose when faced with temptation. I know that it rarely ever lives up to our imagination (think the grass is always greener….blah, blah, blah). I always ask myself three questions when faced with a decision:

How will this affect me 10 minutes from now;

How will this affect me 10 days from now; and

How will this affect me 10 years from now?

If the answer to any of these questions is negative I run away quickly because I know the punishment I imagine is nowhere near the punishment I will receive. If the error is egregious enough, it only leads to living in hell while on earth. No one wants that. We never want our mistakes come back and haunt us for all eternity. However, acting impulsively can lead to the demise of the present and a future yet to be seen. Join the conversation. How do you view temptation? What is your one weakness that regardless of the consequence you can’t refrain?

One thought on “Temptation

  1. Good morning Fun7684. I found this interesting, held me to the very end. Good luck with you move to a new house that is always challenging and exciting at the same time.

Leave a Reply

