No Spend?….There’s gotta be a better way

journey

Got a call today that was exciting, as well as a little daunting. 90 days until we need to move from our current home to some place else. That 90 days expires on April 12, 2017. Where that someplace else is, I have no idea. To buy or rent, that is the question. However, before I can answer that question I need to save, save, save. That means pinching pennies. For someone who’s on Amazon day and night this will not be an easy task. I knew I had to do something so off hunting I went for tips and tricks to make this feat easier.

After perusing through a few articles and thinking a no spend quarter was the answer, I came across an interesting piece of information that made me stop and think. I automatically thought I’d try this no spending thing however, Jen Perkins at “Master the Art of Saving” made me rethink this decision quickly. How will I keep myself from spend binging once this was over? Yes, this is a concern because I spend like there is no limit.

I use a credit card for all purchases and simply use my paycheck to pay it off. This works because as long as I don’t overspend my paycheck, “its all good.” Not really because continuing in this way I would have saved zilch. So on to a better plan.

I created a budget of necessities and non-negotiables. I didn’t want to give up some luxuries that are accounted for. Who can live without a Netflix binge? There was no need to list my wants. That list would be too extensive. I continued on detailing what we could save and immediately following each pay day I will deposit a certain portion of that amount into a savings account which I could not touch on a whim. This may be touch and go for the first paycheck or two but I think it is possible to be in a good position in April.

If I get through 90 days who knows where this will go. Today, I publicly declare my commitment to getting myself and family into a new house. If I fail some weeks to save what I have estimated I will not beat myself up, but resolve to get back on track immediately and continue the journey.

Who’s with me? What will you change today that will make your tomorrow the day you’ve always dreamed of?

 

2 thoughts on “No Spend?….There’s gotta be a better way

  1. Good luck! Being on a fixed income, I have no choice, unless I want to pay overage fees which are exorbitant. I pay my bills through the bank and what’s left over I have a month to “enjoy”. Each month it is different. I think your plan is a good one.

Leave a Reply

